Day 7 D.C.: Museum and Whole Foods / Tag 7 D.C.: Museum und Whole Foods

31th March 2017 / 31. März 2017

Today was really my last full day in Washington D.C. That meant I had to get a picture of the White House and the Capitol by night. But in the morning there was sunlight even though it rained cats and dogs. And not for a short while. I thought: Today it is going to rain only once! So I was drawn to the museum. My sister had told me to go to the National Museum of Natural History. Therefore, and since I had seen on Instagram that one could take nice pics there, I went. At first I had relaxed at the hostel trying to avoid the rain all morning. 🙂

Heute war wirklich mein letzter ganzer Tag in D.C. Das bedeutete: Ich musste unbedingt das Weiße Haus und das Kapitol im Dunklen fotografieren. Aber am Morgen war es erstmal hell und es schüttete wie aus Eimern. Und das nicht nur kurz. Ich dachte mir: Heute regnet es bestimmt nur ein Mal! Daher zog es mich ins Museum. Meine Schwester hatte gemeint, ich solle unbedingt ins Museum of Natural History gehen. Deshalb, und da auf Instagram schöne Fotos vom Museum zu sehen waren, machte ich mich auf. (Zunächst hatte ich mich den halben Morgen im Hostal rumgedrückt und den Regen gemieden. :-))

9998

The line in front of the museum was quite long, but it took me only twenty minutes to get in. I liked the museum. There was a lot to look at and I even could motivate myself to read some of the information boards. The day before I had planned to go to Whole Foods for lunch. There was one close to the metro station Foggy Bottom GWU. Oh dear, do they have a lot of choices. Like in a land flowing with milk and honey. A lot of pastry, a warm buffet, desserts, sushi and so on. And there also was the actual supermarket of course. The food’s taste was not that great, but it was quite an experience.

Die Schlange vor dem Museum war schon bisl lang, aber nach zwanzig Minuten war ich im Trockenen. Ich mochte das Museum. Es gibt dort viel zum angucken und ich konnte mich sogar überwinden, ein paar Informationstafeln zu lesen. Zum Essen hatte ich mir am Tag zuvor vorgenommen, in den Whole Foods nahe der Haltestelle Foggy Bottom GWU zu gehen. Mann oh Mann gab es dort eine Auswahl! Wie im Schlaraffenland! Etliche Sorten an Gebäck, warmes Buffet, Nachtisch, Sushi usw., und dann noch…. der eigentiche Supermarkt natürlich. Das Essen, das ich wählte, war geschmacklich nicht der Hammer. Aber eine Erfahrung war das Ganze wert!

9999

Now I had a bad conscience and needed to walk a bit, even though my feet hurt. I had eaten too many cookies. 🙂 Last time I went to Georgetown I thought I had seen the Water Gate Complex. So there I went. On my way I saw a sign announcing the Kennedy Center. So I also had a look at that one, from the outside. When it was almost dark I went back to the Metro to take on my picture mission.

Nun hatte ich aber ein schlechtes Gewissen und mochte, trotz geschundener Füße, noch etwas laufen. Zu viele Kekse probiert! 🙂 Auf dem Weg zum Georgetown Habour meinte ich den Watergate Komplex gesehen zu haben. Dahin ging ich jetzt. Währenddessen sah ich noch ein Schild, das das Kennedy Center auswies. Also schaute ich das auch noch an, von außen. Als es fast dunkel war, ging ich zurück zur Metro, um meine Fotomission in Angriff zu nehmen.

99991

Leave a comment